Reading Sports Biographies and Autobiographies

Readers don’t want any excuses when it comes to reading books! I am also one of those readers who just read anything when doing nothing and recently, I had the opportunity of reading a number of sports biographies and autobiographies. I came across the books by and on many sportspersons including Sachin, Pele, Flintoff, Gerrard, Beckham, Kevin Pieterson and many others. And let me tell you, reading those books has given me deep insights into the lives of those iconic personalities of the sports. 

Before I read these books, I always thought that reading can only be fun when you read a fictional work and enjoy something which might never happen and which did never or seldom happen. But, when I was reading the autobiography of Sachin, I came across many incidents which were not only hilarious but so and so amusing that I just could not hold my laughter for minutes. And likewise is the case with other persons’ books. Moreover, other than that amusing accounts may make you laugh, there are also serious revelations which might be giving you the thrill of the lifetime!

Reading Gerrard’s (I am talking about Steven Gerrard, the Liverpool LEGEND) book has told me many things I did never come across while watching him play or seeing him on a news channel! And so was the case with KP, Beckham and others. My point is very simple – reading about the sports icon you know will surely give you the things or the secrets which were never open to you before. And that’s why reading them also will be a fun thing!

You can get some books for yourself and start reading some sports stuff this time. Get a break from your fiction and be sporty for a week or what? Longer? You may well be going longer if you really dive into the sports world!

Leave a comment